NEWS / NEWS / NEWS

Life Goes On Forever:
You can now download and play our board game Life Goes On – At Home for an indefinite period of time. Our multimedia adventure takes you on a voyage to the East German-West German past. We hope you enjoy!

Yay yay yay:
We are very happy to announce that machina eX will once again receive Konzeptförderung from the Berlin Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt from 2024 to 2027. Many thanks to the jury, we are looking forward to the next four years!

About machina eX

machina eX has been exploring the interplay between theater and computer games since 2010. The Berlin-based collective emerged out of the cultural studies program at the University of Hildesheim and has been producing participatory game theater ever since. machina eX integrates modern technologies with elements of classical illusion theater to create playable theater pieces that are simultaneously walk-in computer games.

Since its founding, machina eX has produced about thirty games for German-speaking and international audiences, mostly for the theater, but also in museums and classrooms, in urban spaces, at Tempelhofer Feld, and in a medieval fortress. Starting in 2020, the collective also began developing online board games and Living Room Adventures.

machina eX celebrated its breakthrough in 2011 with the dystopian production 15.000 Gray at the 100° Berlin Festival, where the collective earned the Jury Prize. Invitations followed—to the 2012 Impulse Festival, the Körber-Studio Junge Regie, and the Zeitgeist-Festival at the Goethe Institute in Washington D.C., among others. Since then, machina eX has been working closely with the HAU (Hebbel am Ufer) Berlin, co-producing new pieces every year. The FFT Düsseldorf is another important partner. From 2012 to 2014, machina eX cooperated with the FFT in the German Federal Cultural Foundation’s Doppelpass residency program and continues to collaborate with them on guest performances, research projects, and co-productions.

In addition to its theater productions, machina eX develops software and digital tools for the cultural, educational, and handicraft sectors. In 2021/22, for example, the collective created two open-source tools as part of the MACHINA COMMONS project, which have been under continuous development ever since: the real-life game engine adaptor:ex and the storage management software dingsda 2mex, which are available free of charge to digitally-inclined artists, teachers, and anyone else who’s interested.

Since 2020, machina eX has received concept funding from the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Social Cohesion.

In 2019, machina eX earned the Tabori Award from the Fonds Darstellende Künste.

NEWS / NEWS / NEWS

Life Goes On Goes On:
Ab 18.12. könnt ihr euch Life Goes On – At Home wieder herunterladen, ausdrucken und online spielen. Das multimediale Brettspiel ist bis 14.01. auf HAU4.de verfügbar.

Campingfans aufgepasst:
Der Wohnwagen, der uns treue Dienste als Kulisse von Layers of Life geleistet hat, sucht ein neues Zuhause. Genauere Infos bei eBay Kleinanzeigen

Große Freude:
Von 2024 bis 2027 wird machina eX erneut die Konzeptförderung der Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt erhalten.
Vielen Dank an die Jury, wir freuen uns auf die nächsten vier Jahre!

Über machina eX

machina eX forscht seit 2010 an der Schnittstelle von Theater und Computerspiel. Das Berliner Kollektiv ist aus den kulturwissenschaftlichen Studiengängen der Universität Hildesheim hervorgegangen und produziert seither partizipatives Game-Theater. machina eX kombiniert moderne Technologien mit Mitteln des klassischen Illusionstheaters und schafft so immersive spielbare Theaterstücke, die zugleich begehbare Computerspiele sind. 

Seit ihrer Gründung hat machina eX etwa dreißig Games im deutschsprachigen und internationalen Raum produziert – hauptsächlich im Theater, aber auch fürs Museum und fürs Klassenzimmer, im Stadtraum, auf dem Tempelhofer Feld und in einem mittelalterlichen Bollwerk. Seit 2020 sind außerdem Wohnzimmer-Adventures und Online-Brettspiele entstanden.

Seinen Durchbruch feierte das Kollektiv 2011 mit der Dystopie 15.000 Gray auf dem 100° Berlin Festival, wo die Gruppe den Jurypreis gewann. Die Produktion wurde u.a. zum Impulse-Festival 2012, dem Körber-Studio Junge Regie und zum Zeitgeist-Festival des Goethe Instituts Washington D.C. eingeladen. Seit dieser Zeit arbeitet machina eX eng mit dem HAU Hebbel am Ufer Berlin zusammen – jährlich entsteht dort ein ein neues Projekt in Koproduktion. Ein weiterer wichtiger Partner ist das FFT Düsseldorf, mit dem machina eX von 2012 bis 2014 im Residenzprogramm Doppelpass der Kulturstiftung des Bundes kooperierte und seitdem immer wieder im Rahmen von Gastspielen, Recherchephasen und Koproduktionen zusammenarbeitet.

Daneben arbeitet machina eX auch an Software und digitalen Tools für den Kultur-, Bildungs- und Bastelkontext. So entstanden 2021/22 im Projekt MACHINA COMMONS  zwei Open-Source-Tools, die seitdem ständig weiterentwickelt werden: Die Real-Life-Game-Engine adaptor:ex und die Lagerverwaltungs-Software dingsda 2mex, die von allen digitalaffinen Künstler:innen, Lehrenden oder sonstigen Interessierten kostenfrei genutzt werden können.

Seit 2020 erhält machina eX die vierjährige Konzeptförderung der Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt. 

2019 wurde machina eX mit der Tabori Auszeichnung des Fonds Darstellende Künste geehrt.